The 25 nominees to join 2022’s first inductees for the Premier League Hall of Fame, Wayne Rooney and Patrick Vieira, were announced in March and fans could vote for their six favourites.

The Hall of Fame recognises and celebrates the exceptional skill and talent of individuals who have graced the Premier League since its inception in 1992. It is the highest individual honour awarded to players by the League.

The six former players with the most combined votes from the public and the Premier League Awards panel will be inducted alongside Everton and Manchester United legend Rooney and iconic Arsenal captain Vieira.

Fans were able to vote before 21:00 BST on Sunday 3 April.

Find out more about each legend at

2022 Hall of Fame nominees
Player                                                Clubs
Tony Adams                                 ARS
Matthew Le Tissier                    SOU
Ian Wright                                     ARS, WHU
Peter Schmeichel                       MUN, AVL, MCI
Teddy Sheringham                   NFO, TOT, MUN, POR, WHU
Les Ferdinand                            QPR, NEW, TOT, WHU, LEI, BOL
Sol Campbell                               TOT, ARS, POR, NEW
Andrew Cole                                NEW, MUN, BLB, FUL, MCI, POR, SUN
Robbie Fowler                            LIV, LEE, MCI, BLB
Gary Neville                                 MUN
Paul Scholes                                MUN
Rio Ferdinand                            WHU, LEE, MUN, QPR
Michael Owen                             LIV, NEW, MUN, STK
John Terry                                   CHE
Ashley Cole                                  ARS, CHE
Edwin van der Sar                   FUL, MUN
Ruud van                                      Nistelrooy MUN
Petr Cech                                      CHE, ARS
Didier Drogba                            CHE
Robin van Persie                       ARS, MUN
Patrice Evra                                 MUN, WHU
Nemanja Vidic                            MUN
Vincent Kompany                     MCI
Yaya Toure                                   MCI
Sergio Aguero                             MCI

To be eligible for the Premier League Hall of Fame this year, players must have been retired as of 1 January 2022, and only a player’s Premier League career is considered in his candidacy.

All inducted players receive a medallion engraved with their name and the year of their induction, with a £10,000 donation made by the Premier League to a charity of their choice.

test test